OC & Modding Help CPU is frying!!

Hi Guys,

I'm using 3800+ 939 on stock cooling, no OC, 2.0 Ghz(that's a crime I have heard :d ).

Recently I cleaned up the system and removed the thermal paste. And I get a real cheap one from local vendor(Rs 20/- for a tiny tube). But the temp is close to 64 deg. That is dangerous right?

Help me out guys, I am a total newbie. I'm not even sure what right temp should be.

Ouch!!! You'll need some better TIM like the MX2 or at least the Artic Silver 5.

For now, I dont think it'd be any wiser to switch on the comp with that el-cheapo TIM. :| (Was that really a TIM?? I mean 20 bucks!!!)

64'C is hot by any means.

How much thermal paste you have put dude. Did you put it on the centre. See if the heatsink is placed properly. A paste like artic silver 5 takes 200 hours of run time. Give it sometime till the paste is settled properly

Out of curiosity how did you remove the old thermal paste?

How much paste did you use?

I'm running a 4000+ on a stock cooler using the same/similar white compound just for kicks, and it runs exactly the same temps as MX-2, maybe a degree higher.

You need very little, and you should spread the layer around a bit on the heatspreader of the CPU.

This is usually an application issue, unless you got some junk masquerading as thermal paste.

how much paste did u apply....prolly tht 20buxx thing is chuna.lol..i got one for 10buxx....utter crap.

get something of cooler master worth 75buxx...n apply on little n spread over whole except the corners.

try to reseat...........coz i m using 10rs ki dabbi for all my thermal paste need....my cpu idles at 36 and at load it is 66!...graphic card [8600gt-725-core] idles at 46 and at load 55!......thats with ACF7P and moded HSF for GFX card

Gunman said:
Ouch!!! You'll need some better TIM like the MX2 or at least the Artic Silver 5.

For now, I dont think it'd be any wiser to switch on the comp with that el-cheapo TIM. :| (Was that really a TIM?? I mean 20 bucks!!!)