Help in deciding a project for final year..

Bangalore University said:
Students should individually develop a project. They should implement their project in cell in any KDBMS package or any language available in the college. The students have to collect data outside practical books.Project may be taken outside but must be implemented in college.Internal marks can be awarded by the guide by evaluating the performance of student's during the course of project work.

The project carries 240 marks and is awarded as follows :
1.Demonstration & presentation 200 marks
2.Viva-Voice 40 marks
as this is potentially ~40% of my sems marks...this is really imporatant to me...but i just cant decide what to do & which base to use...i'm a novice in VB 6.0 , C & C++ & pretty good in cobol.
My sixth sem marks (total) ~700 where this constitutes the vital 240 marks...the previous projects i've handled has given me full 95% percent marks....altough the marks were only 80 & 80(80=max) (for 2 small projects that were dont in VB,ORACEL 9i,& c++(game))

Most of my classmates are getting the project dont in other institutes etc..by paying them extra...like joining the institutes for the sole purpose of getting the project done by them,,,,:no:
Whats the use ...? It wont help them in gathering any resource....

Am not able to catch any of my seniors..:(... so guys help me in selecting a project and a good base..i have a thing for programming...& im sure i can pick up the amateur skills required for this project by going through the E-books or other resources...

from what ive understood from BU....(from 5 yrs ) is that the code is not give that much importance....the interface & explanation is given all respect..:eek:hyeah: :)

awaiting replies..:)
This thing is confusing..:(

Maybe u should try a Java APP for mobiles. Or if u r good in C++ then try to code an app for Symbain. U get C++ Kits for Symbian OS and u get pretty good Documentation also.