Hiding (html) code from bots ...

PoBoy

Skilled
Hi,
What's the best way to hide html code ( and email addresses etc ) from spam bots, search bots, etc ? I couldn't find a simple soultion so I wrote a javascript function bothide to do the same. Could the programing / internet gurus please comment. I'm not even sure it works.

Check it out here : Bothide http://www.ragaba.com/software/scripts/bothide/bothide.html .

While you are at it, if you frequently use html / javascript colors ( aliceblue, antiquewhite, etc ) check out : http://www.ragaba.com/other_stuff/html_colors/html_colors_by_name.html .
You could get the list of colors sorted by name, by R G B values, by G B R values, etc. Again, comments welcome. I'm no expert.

And, finally I would like any comments / suggestion on the navigation scheme for the ragaba.com web site ( via the menu ).

Thanks.

One thing I noticed on your site is that you are stuffing your pages with keywords in the bottom left with a color the matches your website's background color and with so small a text size that it goes unnoticed to your visitors...
This is a cheap SEO trick and unfair, by any means...
If google catches you, it'll make you make amends by punishing you heavily...
It would be advisable to better put your keywords in the Meta tags.

As for the navigation part, it looks and functins nice. But, the visitor wouldn't know how many pages your site contains until he thoroughly goes through the menu or knows of a sitemap. I think a horizontal navigation bar placed on the top would work better than this scheme.

The color scheme of the website sucks, IMO. Grey isn't a well-liked color. The best is black text on a white background.

The site logo also looks somewhat cheap. Make some nice 3D glassy logo for the site... :D

That's all for now.

Regards,
~HeadShot~,
The Deadly One...

Thanks for the comments, looks like you spent a lot of time "analysing" my site. Wish someone would comment on "bothide", though.