How to Setup WIFI ?

Havok

Adept
Hey Dudes,

I am completely new to setting up wifi.
Can some one please guide me how to do it ??

I have tata indicom broadband at home.

Ok..

So, first, you have to buy a Wireless Router... I suggest to buy, Buffalo or Netgear...

NetGear KWGR614 is good...

You have to config your router in Router Config Panel via address - 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.2 mostly..

Rahulrulez said:
Ok..
So, first, you have to buy a Wireless Router... I suggest to buy, Buffalo or Netgear...
NetGear KWGR614 is good...
You have to config your router in Router Config Panel via address - 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.2 mostly..

Avoid Netgear if you can, i have one that is in cupboard, real panicky, whenever I use it, post 3-4 days I always have to reset it. If possible get buffalo.

~LT

linuxtechie said:
Avoid Netgear if you can, i have one that is in cupboard, real panicky, whenever I use it, post 3-4 days I always have to reset it. If possible get buffalo.

~LT
No issues faced here along with few of my friends who use them. :)

low_bass_makker said:
No issues faced here along with few of my friends who use them. :)

How many days dude? Have you visited Netgear forums? Amazon reviews? So many have listed there problem. Go ahead visit them. Besides Netgear is frugly.

~LT

Asuming tht i have bought wireless router

what to do after that.

I have tata indicom broadband , post paid connection

How do i set up wireless for multiple computers then ??

One more question is can i have both wireless and wired connection from same router ??

Dark,

I have wi-fi setup at home.

My desktop has windows xp and one on-board Ethernet and one pci ethernet.
Bsnl modem connected on-board port and Netgear WG602 on pci ethernet.

Now what i have done is i have made new bsnl broadband connection and from its properties i have selected internet sharing to my local area connection 2.

All ips are assigned automatically.

It is working smoothly.

Rahulrulez said: