Monitors LCD Buying advice needed.

dsarosh

Adept
Hello guys,
I hope this is the correct place to post this topic.

I have been using a 17 inch LG 700S crt monitor for the past 4 years, and its working fine. But I am in sserious need of more screen space.

I needed your advice on how good lcds are compared to crts. I still read reports that crts are better for multimedia applications.

My primary use is software like photoshop, dream weaver, Adobe Acrobat professional, and Adobe photoshop elements.

What I need is switching between these applications a lot, and lot of text display. I dont do very high end stuff that would require great colors, etc.

So I need your advice about how good the current generation of LCDs are compared to my current crt which is already 4 years old.

I'm either buying a 19" lcd, or preferably 22" depending on price.

Any thoughts from you guys will be helpful, thanks.
Sarosh.

Depending on your budget people here can suggest you what you should buy . If you are not really into graphic designing then its safe to get 22" TN panels, price varies alot . LG 226WTQ has good reviews on many websites and is cheapest 22" i have seen . I just bought Dell ultrasharp 2208wfp few days ago and am satisfied with it .

We need your budget. If you want colour accuracy TN panels won't do, you need a IPS/MVA panel and those can be pricey.

Most of the panels sold here are TN panels. Decent TN panels are available from LG and Dell, the 22 inch LG 226WTQ for instance is quite good, Croma has a special offer on that, 12900 I think. However they are not recommended for photoshop work and absolute color accuracy.

This link should let you narrow down on the perfect LCD panel for your needs:

AnandTech - The LCD Thread

A couple of other good sites you can visit are tftcentral.co.uk and the display forum section at hardocp.com

Since color reproduction is important in your scenario, I'd suggest going for a non TN LCD panel.