Audio Logitech Z5300 - Fill sub with dampening material ?

mod-the-pc

Disciple
I have been using a logitech z5300 for a few months. The problem with the sub is that the bass is boomy and not tight. Will filling the enclosure with some sound absorbing material dampen the booms ? It is a ported sub with two "chambers" with the driver between the chambers. Which side of the driver (or which chamber) should be filled ? The speakers are out of warranty and I don't mind opening them.

what sort of dampening material do you have in mind?

What is the sub enclosure made of.

Try stuffing the port alone first , with foam or cloth :D

@Greenie: Noob question warning!!

will a soft stuffing in the ports really help? Won't the kind of force the material has to withstand make it unusable?

Will it be a good idea to minimize the port with some mdf sheet stuck and nailed to perfection and then cut out slowly as per the listener's taste?

greenhorn said:
what sort of dampening material do you have in mind?
What is the sub enclosure made of.
Try stuffing the port alone first , with foam or cloth :D
The enclosure is made of wood (mdf ?). I'm planning to use corrugated foam like this one
corrugated_n_foam.jpg

Or will some other material be an ideal fill ?
@greenhorn & Chaos : will try closing the port by stuffing in some cloth.

between loud boomy bass and less but tight bass, I'd choose the latter :)

Try glasswool, or polyfill from pillows ( easier to get. Just buy a cheap pillow and rip it up ;) ) to stuff the insides

another n00b question from me...

Doesn't closing the port blow the speaker's diaphragm? The displaced air has no where to go right?

Kumar said:
another n00b question from me...

Doesn't closing the port blow the speaker's diaphragm? The displaced air has no where to go right?

nope , it just makes it harder for the speaker to move , but the trapped air provides better damping , and reduces the boominess of the bass :)