Mid-range LCDs demystified

Mid-range LCDs demystified

display027vf6.png

Introduction

There is a mind boggling variety of LCD monitors in the mid-range, (for the purpose of the article, considered Rs. 10,000 to Rs. 20,000). Since this is where the money lies for the manufacturers and the most margins that they make, it is also the most rife with marketing propaganda.

This is something to help you read between the lines and help you make a decision about your purchase.

Since I am not an expert and there are many variables which affect the quality of an LCD , not all of which can be quantified, I will merely point out facts, some of which obvious and some not so obvious.

[BREAK= LCD specifications and why you should care]

LCD specifications and why you should care

For the purpose of the thread, I would take a look at the Dell LCDs. Dell is a popular brand, mostly known for their value for money LCDs, and by far the most trusted choice amongst buyers.

delllogo1wl6.png

I am a bit prejudiced towards Dell as I am planning to purchase a monitor from them. But should you trust Dell? The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind (or rather in the specs).

The following are the monitors which are currently available:

(Specs are directly taken from Dell's website)

MONITOR | ASPECT RATIO | HORIZONTAL RES (pixels) | VERTICAL RES (pixels) | WIDTH | HEIGHT

|||||

E2209W|16:10|1680|1050|20.13" (511.20 mm)|16.01 inches (406.7 mm)

S2209W|16:9|1920|1080|20.6"|15.0"

S2309W|16:9|1920|1080|21.83"|15.8"

S2409W|16:9|1920|1080|22.72" (576.96 mm)|16.39" (416.9 mm)

E248WFP|16:10|1920|1200|22.04" (559.7 mm)|17.17" (436.3 mm)

So what now? These specifications are public domain and you could get them from Dell’s website directly. Right.

From here I mean:

Dell E2209W Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor Details

Dell S2209W Flat Panel Monitor

http://accessories.dell.com/sna/products/Displays/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=corp&sku=320-7339