Need Help in buying a Car. Urgent Help Required

Apr 27, 2005
Guyz,

I have finally decided to buy a cars. I am low on cash hence planning to buy used car.

I' am planning to buy at least 1.6 and above engine car.

I have spotted the below 2 cars.

1. Mitsubishi Lancer SFXI(TOP Model) 2003 Model, Petrol Engine, 1.6 Engine, 17" Alloy Wheels, With Custom Muffler, full black, needs some renovation on the interiors.

Price: 2 lakhs

Should I opt for LPG Kit which I am getting for 15k as petrol engines average is 11 in city.

2. Skoda Octavia 2003 Model, Diesel Engine, 1.9 TDI Engine, 19" Tyre (No mac/alloy wheels), Full purple, needs minor renovation on exteriors and needs alloy wheels.

Gives 18 in city and 20-22 on highway also its diesel engine.

Price: 3lakhs.

Please help Guyz, I am not an expert in vehicles.

IF you suggest any other cars than please inform me.

As I don't want to spend more than 3 lakhs on car.

Regards

Shahbaaz

abhifusion

Adept
Sep 6, 2009
Pune
Re: Need Help in buying a Car. Urgent Help Required!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well logically Octavia sounds as better deal , plus Skoda's service network is larger than Mitsubishi . Go for Skoda ! but get the car checked thoroughly by ur known mechanic and see history of servicing and any damages.

malhotraraul

Skilled
Oct 20, 2008
Mumbai / Thane

personally safety wise & mileage wise i like Octavia but on paper lancer scores better than Octavia, your choice after all.

greenhorn

Patron
Dec 29, 2005

avoid the skoda, look for a 1.5 (especially vtec) OHC or baleno

iaudio

Adept
Jul 29, 2009
Have you seen the horror stories on Skoda service and the high cost of spares on T bhp? That will make anyone think twice about a used Skoda.

Get a1.5 Old Honda City anyday! Good performance, peace of mind.

Spacescreamer

ex-Mod
Jan 23, 2006
Dont go for a used car.

Problem which are not noticeable today will keep popping after a while. Moreover used car tends to start giving fresh problems as well.