Need help setting up a wifi network

pretttt

Skilled
Hi guys,
I'm a complete noob at networking stuff, so asking for your help. If this query has been answered already, then please be kind enough to point it. I tried checking out some of the other threads, but just ended up confused.:ashamed:

So, here it goes:
1) I have 2 desktops PCs and 1 Laptop.
2) I have one BSNL internet connection, it has one ADSL modem, which has one ethernet port and one USB port.
3) I want to share this internet connection between all my 3 systems. The desktops can connections can be wired, but I should be able to wirelessly access net from Laptop.
4) Also, I want setup a LAN kind of thing between my 3 systems. Meaning, I should be able to access shared files from any of the three systems (like in office).

Now, with my very limited knowledge, I figured, I need a Wifi router. What I'm thinking is that I will connect the output of the modem to the router. From the router, I will connect the 2 desktops using lan cable (Wifi routers have ethernet ports right?). And since, my laptop already has wifi, I should be able to connect the laptop wirelessly to the router. Am I right?
Is this enough to access internet from all the 3 systems? Will it also setup up the lan functionality? Do I still need wifi adaptor cards etc? So, according to above, I need to buy wifi router and 2 lan cables only. Anything else that I need to buy?

Thanks in advance :).

Yes, you are correct. Just connect the PCs with LAN cable and use Wi-Fi for Laptop. No special configuration is required for accessing file on computers via LAN. Just share files and type in the IP address of remote machine like \\<IP_Address> (e.g. \\192.168.2.1) in run window of local machine and you should be able to access the file.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Well, as for the router I have budget of upto 1.5 - 2k. Can be extended if really required. In this range, I guess I'll only get G router.