Linux Need help with configuring samba

spolygon

Disciple
Hi Guys!
To begin with let me confess that I am a complete linux newbie.

However inspired by superczar's tutorial on setting up a home server
http://www.techenclave.com/guides-and-tutorials/how-build-low-cost-linux-home-102018.html
I decided to try and configure a server for myself.

I downloaded ubuntu 8.10 and it installed fine.
I then upgraded all packages.
I next installed samba from adept. (There were several choices when i searched for samba but i installed the one that said 'samba" :) )
I followed the guide and eventually rewrote the contents of the smb.conf file by the code provided by superczar. I changed the netbios name and made sure the workgroup was set to what my windows XP machines use.
I then restarted samba. Finally i set a fileserver name (identical to the log in name to ubuntu) and a password.
The problem began when i tried to access the NAS box from my windows machines. Whatever I try the windows machines do not see the linux box and vice versa.
I can ping each machine from the other. I can also reach the linux machine if i type in the local ip address of the linux box in 'Run' in xp.
However the computers cannot see each other in 'my network places'.
Furthermore when i try to get to the network on the linux machine i get the follwoing error: unable to mount location. failed to retrieve share list from server. I have googled this and tried several things from the web with no success.
In frustration i went ahead and installed openssh server on the linux machine. Interestingly i can access it them by using putty in the windows machine.

I am running a network off a buffalo wireless router set to DHCP mode ) i use railwire internet and they do not have a pppoe login)

Seeing the fact that the computers can see each other when i type in the ip address, i think that its the samba settings that somehow i have messed up.
Has anything changed in the later versions of ubuntu.