PC Peripherals Need help with upgrading my PC

kushall

Disciple
Finally I got hold of some money to upgrade my PC.
Can anyone tell me the best way to upgrade my current PC..

MB - Asus P5B Deluxe
CPU - Intel Core2Duo E6300
RAM - 1*2GB Transcend 533mhz
GPU - BIG 7600GS 256MB
SMPS - UMAX 550W
Monitor - Viewsonic VG1930wm
HDD - Seagate 250GB

I was wondering if it is enough if i upgrade only the GPU to a ATI HD4850, will my smps support this card?

I want to upgrade my PC within the price range of 15-17k, I'm a Gamer/Learning Animator (3dsmax).

The 4850 is a decent card. About your SMPS , don't know about the brand but you need to find the AMPS (A) on +12 v rail.

It's probably better to sell of all components except monitor and hdd and go for a new amd phenom 2 based system(p2 550be+biostar 790gxb) with ati 4850 and a decent psu like corsiar cx400.
If you want to keep your mobo, probably e7500+ati 4850+corsair cx400+corsair 2x2gb ddr2 800 would be a good option.
Whatever you choose, dont continue with your current psu if you intend to buy ati 4850, opt for something better.

Thanks a lot for the suggestions guys.

I think I'll go for your suggestion of e7500+ati 4850+corsair cx400+corsair 2x2gb ddr2 800 haraakiri, but for now I can't buy the e7500 because it goes out of my budget.

Can my e6300 use the full potential of a HD4850?

I'm sorry I forgot to mention my cabinet, I have a Zebronics Antibiotic, Will a HD4850 fit in it?

AFAIK E6300(I am assuming older one 1.8ghz) will bottleneck 4850. Probably you can opt for Intel E5300 for 3.3K and overclock it a bit. P5B should be able to take it. ATI cards are smaller in length compared to nvidia ones, it should fit antibiotic.

Just connected the parts that i bought.

Got a Sapphire HD4850 for 7500rs

Coolermaster 460W Extremepower - 2500rs

2*2gb Transcend - 2500

The card and the smps work fine but my system is only detecting 3gb of the ram according to dxdiag, Are the ram faulty?