Graphic Cards Need (moral) help to decide which GPU is best for my specific need...

samavery42

Recruit
So the scene is this. I build my pc in jan 2022 when inflation was sky high. So, I opted for an apu 5600g (23k) , 16g ram, 650w PSU and 24" 1080p:165hz monitor. I was decently suprised by the igpu capabilities of 5600g. I used to be able to play games at 1080p low, but sometimes, I downed it at 900p or 720p, still got around 40fps.

Now, I want to upgrade to 1080p ultra 60fps at modern AAA titles. And as per my research, I have narrowed to these options:-

1.rx 6600
2.rtx 3060
3.rtx 2060

But my budget is around 12k. Now I have these questions.

A. Should I give up on these requirements in this budget and go with current option like 1650 (12k) or Rx 580 (10k)?

B. Is there any sense in future proofing by buying one of these expensive GPU? I am a student, so it feels kinda dirty to spend more.

For budgets, have an amount in mind and look for options a little over and under. If your budget is 12k and you're getting a 15% bump in perf for 13k, sure, go for it. But keep it to 1 bump level only - for all electronic stuff you're going to find a lot of incremental gains, like 16k might get you 30% over 12k but it's a big stretch.

There's no such thing as future proofing, especially not with low end parts. A 4080 might last you a few game generations with settings at ultra/very high, but a 4060 would need settings lowered far earlier.

@rockstah I could, but I don't know what should good price be & how to ensure it will be genuine... I saw some on fb marketplace, like 2060 for 13k & Rx 6600 for 14k, with a year warranty left. Can you suggest a good way to confirm its legit? Like will it fail after I run benchmarks? I have seen Linus video, that even mining gpus are ok. But that's US, in India, the servers are rigged :(

I saw 6500xt, and 6600 is around 75% faster at 1080p, and just 5k more...aaaagghh, I just wish, 6600 was around 15k