Network setup for my office

hey guys.
i am going to set up a network for my 7-8 compas,
i would like to know what exactly i require to make it networked and the procedure of it. i am new to this networking but dont mind learning it. could u tell me what wil i need to buy first,second,etc. also the network should be easy as i will connect my printer (hp 1020) and will use internet only in 2 comps.
even what to know how can i block few comps from internet use and all,
please guys help

thanks in advance

I am not too knowledgeable about this, but lets see if I can help provide one solution. I don't know if there are any better/cheaper methonds, but this is what I use.

First, you will need a switch. Get a 16 port switch that can help you setup a LAN. To interface with your net connection you will need

1) A router

OR

2) A server.

If you already have a PC that you are not using (you won't need a monitor), you could install linux on it or a setup like m0n0wall (based on FreeBSD). The PC will connect to your net provider. And it will be hooked into your hub. (The PC will need two ethernet cards). You can easily set permissions on the server about who can access external net and who cannot.

If you would rather save some power and use a router, the router will connect to the net provider and will be hooked into you switch. Enable DHCP on the router and your systems will automatically pick up IPs and will all be connected to the network. I do not know how to setup a router to enable only one or two machines to have access to external network. You will have to wait for someone else to give inputs there.

I have m0n0wall setup in my office and it works fine for me. The PC doesn't have a HDD or a DVD drive. I boot and run off a USB Drive (256mb drive).

If you can get a WIFI router (Buffalo G54) + Switch. Your work will be done. You can flash buffalo with tomato through which you can block ips from accessing the internet. Have done it myself and hence know it.