Audio Newbie to Sound cards - suggestions required for sound card upto 3k

TheBroker

Skilled
Hi,
I'm a total novice when it comes to sound cards and the technologies associated with it.

I'm looking for a sound card to go with my Gigabyte H55M-S2 motherboard ( it has Realtek ALC888B Codec ). I currently use Altec Lansing BXR1221 speakers with it, but I plan to buy another PC soon & pair with a better set of speakers.

Music that I listen to - Trance, Lounge, Hindi. Also into gaming and watching movies / TV shows on my PC.

Preferred range upto 3k but will stretch by 1k for a value deal.

I stay in Mumbai and am open to buying online.

Thanks in advance :)

@TheBroker
Strech your budget and go for a Asus Xonar DX will be worth the price . It fulfills all your requirements perfectly .

Last edited by a moderator:
whats your budget for your speakers? In my experience. Unless it's 15K+, you're better off spending your money on speakers than a soundcard. the marginal ROI is much better

Greenie, he's running ALC888. Even a little $40 plugin module from eBay will beat the crap out of it.

I'm thinking New Muse HiFi USB DAC PCM2704 Sound Card Decoder USB to s PDIF Converter Silver | eBay OR SMSL Fort PCM2704USB Music DAC Sound Card Headphone Amplifier | eBay

Of course, these are two-channel 44.1/48 only, but I always have said that you can have two good channels or 5 ho-hum ones at any given price point. The PCM2702/04 are excellent for their price (practically free) and there's isn't much even the Chinese can do to screw it up.

He's planning to get another machine right? just choose a motherboard with a decent non realtek onboard sound, and he should be good.

He's planning to get another machine right? just choose a motherboard with a decent non realtek onboard sound, and he should be good.

Not planning a high end machine! Planned motherboard is Gigabyte B75M ( or another mobo based on the B75 series) so that's why looking at the sound card purchase.