Noob here, need suggestions about how not to get scammed while buying stuff in TE.

Danielman

Disciple
I want to know, what do u check before making a purchase in TE. what are some redflags that everyone should be aware of before buying stuff here?
I have read the Guidelines of marketsection of TE, and how to make a purchases here. One of the point there, says I should ask the seller to get reference of a reputed TE member. So, do u guys do that for every purchase?
One seller I had contacted says he can ship stuff via courier, is that reliable ?can we track the details and where the shipment is ? .

I basically want someone to tell me how they make purchases here, without getting scammed.

1. "reputed TE member" - the problem here is how you define reputed, and how are you supposed to trust the word of the "reputed" member?
2. There's a couple of threads you should probably go through that have recently had a lengthy discussion about the market section: one, two
3. If you agree on courier shipping with a seller, then you can obviously track it with the number. you can ask for pictures of the product packed and labelled etc. Of course, this depends on whether the seller has kept to the agreement.
4. Apart from this, it's just like buying used products from anywhere else. There's a certain amount of risk, and the feedback feature plays some part in mitigating a portion of that risk. But be very clear that the risk is still there and entirely on you.

I'd suggest communicating with the seller, if they're responsive and transparent, they're more likely to be legit. If they're cagey and evasive, walk away from the deal.

Yeah, I think reputation is the only real thing you can go by. Largely, a lot of the people I have dealt with have not had any reservations in closing the deal. There were a couple of new members who were more circumspect and asked for images of the product and packaging, which I was okay to oblige with.