port/download speed

speed4me

Disciple
hii 2 all members.
I've been usuing u-torrent for the past 6-7 months. Earlier i used to get a good download speed about 25-30kBps. My modem was beetel 100CX. Due to some problem in the modem i changed it and installed beetel 220BX. From here the problem started.... my u-torrent always shows a red sign saying "no incoming connections OR the port is not properly forwarded". I've configured my router and opened all ports(TCP) from 10000-60000( as u-torrent is connected above 10000). The network problem is solved and it shows a green light now. But now the speed is greatly reduced to 10-12kBps (even if there are more seeders).
I've disabled firewall.
I've airtel unlimited broadband connection (64-128kBps).
U-torrent 1.6.1
Ram: 632MB
HDD: 160GB
Intel Pentium 4 2.6GHz processor.
plz members kindly help me in this problem. My torrents are going very slow.

There is no way you can get a download speed of 25-30KB/s on a 128kbit connection. The max is 16. Looks like you somehow got 256kbit bandwidth earlier if you were getting 25-30KB/s speeds.

Its 64-128kBps(kilobyte). My friends in locality also have the same connection, they are getting 25-30kBps. BTW torrent speed is different from normal internet speed. My normal internet speed(download) is 10-12kBps

if its 64 kilobytes, you should be getting that as your download speed. dl speeds are usually measured in kilobytes per second while ISPs advertise internet connections as kilobits per second. 1 kilobyte = 8 kilobits. therefore on a 256kilobit connection (which most ISPs have) you will get 256/8 = 32 kilobytes per second as your maximum download speed. also torrent speeds shouldn't be any faster than your normal download speeds. in fact, most of the time they're slower due to poor seeds.

edit : you have airtel. all airtel plans are advertised in kilobits per second, not kilobytes.

i know they represent connection speed as kbps & not KBps.