Query about student discounts on Apple & Samsung products & reqd. email IDs

nemo_online

Disciple
So, I have been wondering about this for a while now - The two above mentioned companies give student discounts which all well and good but what I don't understand is that when they ask for an email ID from the institution that you're studying in, what email ID are we supposed to give?
The last time I checked most public Indian universities had not started giving out individual email ids. For example if I am a student of Delhi University and study in St. Stephens college, I won't get an email id on my name.
So which email id does one share for getting discounts on Apple or Samsung products?

Regards

Apple uses unidays verification to apply education discounts.

Unidays faq says you can verify using college/university email or using ID card.

Maybe edu or org email is not necessary, sign up using regular email and verify using ID card. Other member can chime in.

Contact apple/unidays to confirm for sure.

Forgot to mention that I had tried signing up using a Gmail ID with the same thought of using the University ID card as proof later but Apple doesn't accept Gmail IDs or Microsoft IDs for that matter. Anyway, will need to contact unidays I guess.

Update on this thread: I found the answer to the question I posted above. In case you don't have a institutional student email id you can scan your ID card and send it to Apple & Samsung. My ID got approved for Samsung and I became eligible for their student discounts.