Router needed

Brendon

Skilled
Ok, my internet at home is screwed ! :(

I need to use my dad's MTNL connection but my computer is in another room so I need wi-fi.

The problem is my net is not working too good and I can't do any research on wi-fi modems.

So please let me know whats a good modem to use. I will also need a wi-fi usb receiver for my PC.

Please help me out guys. I am frustrated with the lack of internet. I need to make a decision and buy a modem tomorrow. I haven't kept pace with technology and I dunno the difference between g/b/n speeds or whatever.

Also will mostly be buying from Prime online. However I believe their service has fallen lately. Any other dealer I should consider ?

Finally I have never used a wi-fi connection before. I hope its not too difficult. :ashamed:

If you've been dealing with Prime then it shouldn't be an issue with service.... I deal with them every now and then and so far haven't had any issues with service.

As for your original query:

Are you looking for any general router or ADSL modem+router. I believe you must have MTNL modem already so you can go for regular router with 1xWAN + 4xLAN ports.

N routers are recommended not only for speed boost, but overall improved range.

Belkin and Linksys both have some good basic N routers with doesn't require lot of tweaking and work well enough out of the box.

Belkins:

Belkin : N Wireless Router

Belkin : N150 Enhanced Wireless Router

Linksys:

Linksys Wireless-N Home Router Wi-Fi

Linksys WAG120N Modem Router Multi-Mode support

Asus:

Asus RT-N12 SuperSpeedN Wireless

Asus RT-N15 SuperSpeedN Wireless

For PC adapter, you can pick up Belkin N USB adapter for about 1600-1800 rs. which works quite good. I've one and using it for my HTPC. : Belkin : N Wireless USB Adapter (ignore the price listed on that page, I picked by at 1850 /- 3 months ago)

Better go for wifi router of which you can update the firmware with Tomato.