Setting up WIFI network @ home

anish_sha

Skilled
Hi frenz, i' have BSNL DATAONE BROADBAND connection at home..I want to setup a wireless network through it since i want to use it along wit TWO laptops and ONE desktop with in 200m radius (with Obstacles means like each system will be in different rooms and floor) ,since i don't 've any knowledge about networking i request you guys to guide me,what all things i would need to setup it ,also should i opt normal modem from bsnl or wireless modem.. heres my doubts

1) shall i be able to use the internet without switching on my desktop(its the one to which i am connected my phone line thru the normal modem)

2)which all hardwares i have to buy to get this done

3) will the signals of wifi weaken if i use my laptop in one room/floor where as the router is in different room/floor
pls guide me guys, i have ZERO knowledge in networking...

thanks in advance

1....ya u can use
2....u have to buy wireless router
3....ya....depends upon ur wi-fi router position and obstacles betn lappy and ur router

200m?? Its too much, maybe you mean 20m.

If that is the case then all you need is a wi-fi router (since you already have a modem).

A Buffalo WHRG54 comes for around 2.1K and will suit your needs perfectly well. You dont need to switch on your desktop as now your modem will connect to your wifi router. And any PC/laptop will connect directly to the router.

Your signal will weaken but even if it weakens to 2MBps wireless connection, you will still be able to use your internet connection to its max potential. Speaking from personal experience.

If you dont already have a connection then you buy a ADSL+wifi router

200m is going to take serious INFRASTRUCTURE. 20m is easily doable with any wifi router. I personally use Buffalo HPG54 for connecting 2 laptops and a desktop across two 2 bedroom flats on the same floor and get reception everywhere. Even the Buffalo G54S which is cheaper at 2.2k is good. It worked as well in my setup.