Camera sony slt a37 vs canon 600d

I am a total beginner in photography. My budget is around 30k. So can you ppl suggest me anyone of the above two or something of your own preference. It will be mostly used for Potrait or Landscape.

Thanks in advance.

A37 is an older model. Try the A58 instead.

Differences between the two -

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-600d-vs-Sony-SLT-A58

Basically the IQ is where you might see some differences as the A58 will be better in some scenarios. The other difference is in the viewfinder. The 600D has a traditional viewfinder while the A58 has an EVF. You might want to check out the two before making your decision.

If you like shooting via the LCD then the A58 is better suited as its got fast AF when using the LCD. The 600D has a very slow AF when using the LCD (however when using the viewfinder the AF of both lenses will be approx the same).

Lastly the Canon has much greater support in India but frankly now all Sony lenses and accessories are also available for sale in India.

Its better to stick with canon unless you weigh exclusivity that much.As mentioned by others support and availability of lenses are at least ten folds higher for canon.
The difference is even more pronounced if you are in the used market for lenses.
Same when you want to sell your gear for an upgrade.majority of people will be looking for canon/Nikon.

Another advantage with canon/Nikon is when you want to borrow some lens/extra battery etc from a friend or relative

Any specific reason for the 60d or 1100D package.