Suggest a good electric shaver

^^ ive been using the same 7-in-1 for the past couple of years. picked it up slightly cheaper in amsterdam.. its a good budget option as a trimmer, but not as a shaver..

I have this Panasoic ES8116

2008C8U381102_big.JPG

Expensive but works fantastic.

You could also try Gillette fusion, I have been using it since the pass 4-5 months now, gives a fantastically smooth shave.

gillette_fusion.jpg

Checksum said:
I got a Philips grooming kit yesterday. Its about 2.4k but has various attachments and stuff. Definitely worth the money.

Philips - Grooming kits - Personal care - Men's grooming

I think it is mostly a trimmer sort of thing. I had used a Philips (Holland) shaver long back, with two round blades and a retractable trimmer on the side. It was really useful for a fast shave and lasted years. Of course it was a gift from a friend who returned from U.S. Using a Mach3 ever since its debut.

Yup its a trimmer, but does a pretty good job. There is also an attachment for shaver, but haven't used it yet. I'm too lazy to shave, so prefer trimming :p

I can sympathize with the OP. It's true that using an electric shaver will eliminate rashes and razor bumps.

I had similar issues but I prefer the clean shave of a regular razor. So I researched a bit and I have a few tips on how to avoid razor bumps and rashes:-

1. Use warm water the clean your face before shaving. Warm water is very important as it preps your beard.

2. Never let your beard grow too much.

3. Apply a thick lather of shaving foam and let it sit on your face for about a minute.

4. Attempt to shave the majority of your beard in one single stroke. Repeated stroking causes rashes.

5. Don't apply too much pressure. If you have to use pressure, change blades.

6. Wash your face with cold water after shaving.

7. Use a good aftershave.

These steps have prevented 90% of rashes in my case.

I really REALLY suggest the old safety razor method of shaving.