Linux Ubuntu 11.04 Officially Released

^ Linux Mint is an easier version to start off with. I'm not talking specifically about this release, but generally Mint is more newbie friendly.

Ubuntu user interface is pretty user friendly... so i think you would easily be able to use it...

To be frank i am not a linux techie... the linux techie is vishalrao IMO... you can ask him questions regarding Ubuntu i am sure he would be able to answer em... :)

Why they recommend 32-bit ?

I have 64-bit machine, but I installed Ubuntu 11 32-bit as it was available on Chip DVD. Now if I want to install, which one ? 32 or 64 bit ?

Sure I would recommend this release for "newbies"... but if one is a TOTAL clueless and retarded noob, then maybe Mint. :p Though I avoid it and always stick with Ubuntu!

--- Updated Post - Automerged ---

Go for 64 bit for slightly better performance... these days there are really NO issues with 64bit support :)

--- Updated Post - Automerged ---

Oh, and thanks Hades for mentioning my name! LOL

With Linux Mint, you get the "Linux Mint" branding all over the place. Instead of google showing all the tools to search better, it just shows Linux Mint all over the place. The fact is, even Ubuntu becomes what you want Linux Mint to be very easily.

Updated my 10.10 to 11.04 last night took a hefty 4 hours for the process :) . Now system is stable and running good :) .

Thanks for the replies.

Would you guys recommend installing it on a VM first to get the hang of it or can it be just installed as a dual boot?

^^First you can try installing it in the VMWare if you like to be on the safer side... And regarding the dualboot thing then i think there is a tutorial on Ubuntu site regarding how to dual boot ubuntu along with windows OS... :)