Upgrading OS, help me to decide and how to proceed

src2206

Adept
Hello friends

I am running a 32bit XP Pro with SP3. As I use lot of graphics programs, I was wondering whether it would be prudent to upgrade to a 64bit version, and if yes, to XP 64bit or Win7 64bit. Please note I have been using this installation of XP for last 5 years or so. Regarding this, please clear my following doubts.

1. I have about 3GB of RAM (planning to add more as graphics editing programs are very much RAM intensive). So will a 64bit OS operate better than a 32bit? And shall the programs run faster?

. In case of upgrading to 64bit, will XP PRo 64bit a better choice or Windows 7 64bit?

3. Can I transfer my settings from my present system to the new one? Mainly I am worried about the Browser (Firefox and Chrome). I can not afford to loose the settings.

4. In case some programs do not have 64bit versions available (I use some free programs which do not offer 64bit) can I still use the 32bit version?

5. I have heard that Win gradually takes up space on the installation partition. Is that true? If yes, is there any solution to this?

6. If it is better to upgrade to 32bit XP to 64bit Win7 or XP, please let me know how exactly should I proceed. Sadly I can not afford to loose much time over setting up my system. I would like to upgrade via the least hassle free way (preferably without a clean install, unless that is absolutely necessary).

Thank you.

1 - since you are planning to add some more RAM I would suggest you to install 64bit OS. 32bit OS supports only up to 3.25gb RAM, rest of the RAM will be wasted anyway.

2. Windows 7 64bit. A happy user since 4years :)

3. you can sync firefox, chrome settings, bookmarks.

4. Almost every 32bit software can be run on 64bit system :)

5. 64bit OS takes up couple of GBs more. but that's worth it :)