Where should I make investments?

Hey guys,
So the thing is even though I've been working for a bit more than a couple of years now, I was never into savings. Recently our family was hit with some unseen expenditures and I got thinking about it, but have rather poor knowledge of any investment.
My aims are to invest both short and long term. The only "investment" per se I've is a life insurance policy. Nothing else. Also shifting to a new job, so would love to plan my finances and invest smart.
Been reading JagoInvestor for some hours since today morning and AFA I understood, MFs, the Equity Diversified type are good for long term. Among the short term, I really don't know. I am thinking of getting the Sweep-in/out facility activated for my salary account (where money over a threshold value is automatically turned into FDs with higher interests). But then, what else ? How should I go about my financial planning ?
10% of my salary will go as house rent.
For the rest, I'm thinking of splitting 30 in between MFs/PPF/FDs. Is it a wise investment ? What all to look when investing in these ?
That leaves me 60%, out of which 20% is kept for emergencies. 40% for monthly expenditure.
Any help/guidance will be appreciated.

:)

1Lakh into PPF - Per year.
Find 3 - 4 Mutual Funds which you think are good. Start putting money every month. Invest on this for a long term. Keep some money as emergency in an FD/Sweep accounts.

Now the best way to "Plan" is not just putting in money somewhere. Try Investing by Goals. See what your goals are, Ex: Buy Flat in 5 Years, Required Funds - say 10L (Rest Loan etc). Start investing towards the goal. This way, you invest since you know why you are investing. Else, if you just put in money your thoughts wander and you will pull out money sooner, like buying the phone you don't actually need :)