Wi-Fi lappy / Wired pc / airtel broadband / how to?

hi guyz,

well the problem is very simple but im a total noob at networking stuff :ashamed:

currently im using airtel bb (220BX1 ADSL2 MODEM) for accessing internet on my desktop pc. i just bought a new dell lappy last saturday and want to access techenclave while sitting on my couch :) so i need a setup through which i can access internet on my desktop (wired) as well as on my lappy (wifi)

can someone help me setting up this thing. i need a wi fi router which also supports wired connections. please mention model# as well...im too greedy :rofl:

one of my networking friend told me that netgear wi fi routers are better than linksys when it comes to accessing the internet across the floors. he said netgear offers better reception across floors...IS IT TRUE?

TIA

H@cKer said:
any proofs^o

dont blindly type shit

I hv a netgear wifi router and it is very good both in terms of range as well as speed.;)

Ok good for you. I have a netgear modem and it overheats and drops connections here and there.

@OP, I've the linksys WRT54G and its rock-solid. The WRT54GL has the linux firmware and its much more stable than the regular one.

guyz does it make any difference if u access wi fi across floors? my home is at 3rd + 4th floor of the building. do i need to buy any specific router or any one will do?

I'm not sure what you meant by the red cross in the second diagram. You can't avoid the modem altogether, unless you have an ADSL2 modem with wifi router inbuilt (both in the same device).
You already have a BB modem, right? If yes, just buy a router and the follow the first setup.

You can skip using the Beetel modem if you buy a modem + wireless router, also known as a gateway. If that's what you're looking at, try the Linksys WAG54G2 or the WAG160N.

@hp-india

i already have 220bxi adsl 2 modem that was supplied by airtel itself.

@Edrill