Wifi router for Hathway internet connection

Game24

Disciple
Hello, I am a complete noob as far as modems n routers r concerned, So please bear with me.

I am looking forward to buy a wifi modem/router for my internet connection. I have a hathway internet connection, cable.

So which one should i go for???

Wireless router or ADSL??

Looked at this kind of liked it for the design:

HTML:
http://www.flipkart.com/asus-rt-n12-lx-wireless-router/p/itmd6354btvnrxtz?pid=RTRD6352VX7RZSWG&ref=b5dd2c8b-796a-48cf-8a5d-64a403854d94

Will this be compatible for my hathway connection?? tHe link above -
Asus RT-N12 LX Wireless Router

And also please clear few of my doubts.

1. What is dd-wrt??
2. And if a modem has usb ports can i connect my hard disk to it so that it can automatically download stuff on it??
3. What does N150 indicate, rather 150mbps?? And what does 300mbps indicate>? does it have anything to do with the range??

Please send in ur suggestions. My budget is Rs 2500/- (MAX)

Thanking evryone for helping out :)

Am too on hathway.Where are u based
You won't need an ADSL modem.A simple wireless router would do.
1. What is dd-wrt??
2. And if a modem has usb ports can i connect my hard disk to it so that it can automatically download stuff on it??
3. What does N150 indicate, rather 150mbps?? And what does 300mbps indicate>? does it have anything to do with the range??
@vivek.krishnan can explain better,an ex-hathway user.
dd-wrt is a Linux based firmware that allows you to modd the router into a torrent downloader that won't require you to keep your pc on to continue your downloads
The downloads go into your hard disk as you wish

Last edited by a moderator:
I am from Kandivali (W). Which router would support that direct downloading to the hard disk?? The Asus RT-N12 LX Wireless Router will help me do that?? Suggestions please