Camera Canon 1100D vs Canon 600D

AMG

Skilled
Complete noob in photography.
Getting a DSLR just because I want a manual viewfinder(non-compromise-able requirement)

Also not really a Nikon guy.
Plus Canon's have dioptre correction, and I wear spectacles.

Does it make sense to spend 10K more on the 600?
Should I get a better lens instead?

Last edited:
The articulating LCD is useful in many situations where you can't use the viewfinder (in fact I don't understand why it is not a standard feature in a dslr). Plus, I guess the 600d has enough higher specs/additional features to make it worth the extra 10k.

if this is gonna be your first Dslr, get the 1100D with kit lens, and if ur a casual photographer, it will be more than enough for you.

If you decide you need to step up, sell this off at half rate in 2 years and get a semi pro body with a better lens.

Sony DSLRs :facepalm:[DOUBLEPOST=1382988202][/DOUBLEPOST]Okey.

Let me rephrase my question.

1100D + 18-55 + 55-250
or
600D + 18-55

Also got offered a 550D at 26K with 18-55
BUT, it was used as display piece in Croma.
suggestions???

Last edited:
see if you can get a 18-135, first or second hand.

you will need something in the 70 mm range while covering family events etc etc, and changing lenses in the middle of shoot is PITA......

if 18-135 is too costly for you now, get 550D or 600D with the kit 18-55 and decide on ur second lens later.

i went from 18-55 to 15-85 for my 550D, 2 years after buying the cam, and loving it. 15-85 is more expensive than 18-135, but worth it.

Will suggest the 1100D with 18-55 and 55-250. I kept the earlier entry-level 1000D for 2.5 years before 'upgrading' to 500D about 2 years back.
The 'features' that you gain on upgrading are IMO barely noticeable for amateurs like me (and possibly you).