Cheapest wireless router for 10Mbps connection,to connect 2 laptops,1 PS3,1 cell

eggman

Adept
Cheapest wireless router for 10Mbps conn (ACT BB),to connect 2 laptops,1 PS3,1 cell

Hi

I have a 10Mbps broadband wired net that gives connection via a LAN wire.
I would like to have wireless connection in my home , so that I can connect the following using WiFi:

1) 2 Laptops
2) 1 PS3
3) 1 Cell Phone

Area coverage needed is around 400 sq. feet.

1) I would like to have something very easy to setup. I'm a noob to networking, and something plug and play is what I really looking for.
2) My connection ask for a User Id and password every time I plug it into a new device. IT redirects any typed site to their Logon screen. So I assume that after I connect it to the wireless router the first time and access net, it should redirect it to the same logon page and there should not be any issue. Am I right?
3) Really looking for the cheapest and most VFM model. Don't care about looks or size or anything else..
4) (Optional) It should give the option to have a password for the WifI network
5) Although they provide network through optical wire, there is a converter already installed outside my home and the connection to my laptop is through a LAN wire, that shouldn't create any issue I Think.

I have ACT broadband, if it's of any help.
Thanks for looking :):)

Please also let me know. Sorry @eggman i don't want to hi jack but also i don't want to start an unnecessary thread. I hope you don't mind? :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Would suggest to get a dd wrt enabled router if possible. There may be scripts available to auto login to the act network
Also, there is a cheap tp link router also available

Similar stats in my case

Only difference from eggman's case is i am situated in mumbai and i use Hathway internet

i also have to type a login id and password everytime i start my pc

coverage area needed is around 500 sq feet