Linux Debian 4.0r5 opinions ?

Balkazzaar

Adept
Feb 5, 2007
hello all, i am linux newbie here.........i am planning to install Debian's latest stable release which 4.0r5...so i thought of getting some opinions and reviews on it before proceeding with the installation...i had been thinking of installing debian for a long time ever since my college days because most of friends said that it is very good and stable OS...

however b4 going ahead i would like to have few questions answered....

1)is it a good OS?

2)where does it stand when compared with other linux distros like ubuntu, knoppix etc ?

3)which free desktop environments does it support? as per my knowledge from wikipedia...i come 2 know that it comes with its default GNOME free desktop environment.

4) does it support KDE and XFCE ? if yes do they support the latest releases?

please 4giv me if i have made any blunderous linux mistakes in terms of the terminologies or wrong information mentioned anywhere above....

nukeu666

Skilled
Dec 19, 2006
1.i have always used debian for my desktop and recco it to anyone
2.ubuntu/knoppix are aimed at new users, debian more mainstream
3.everything
4.yes

vishalrao

Global Moral Police
Skilled
Nov 10, 2007
Pune, India
One option is to install Ubuntu (Debian based, if that is specifically what you want) so you can also enjoy the Linux "Desktop" experience... plus you have easy access to the command line to learn all the terminal ninja commands to configure and play around :D

Dark Star

ex-Mod
May 7, 2006
Installing Ubuntu would be a much better option.. If you want KDE 4 out of the box switch to Mandriva .. See my sig for review :p

logistopath

Molar Police
Staff member
Super Mod
May 25, 2007
Erode
Being a Linux noobie, you could also opt for openSUSE 11.. VEry much user-friendly, and makes the transition from Windows to Linux easier.

Balkazzaar

Adept
Feb 5, 2007