Budget 51-70k Laptop for a Professional Photographer (Intensive Image Editing in LR and PS)

dskochhar

Disciple
Sep 9, 2011
What's your Budget? -> Don't want to buy a real expensive laptop but I want something which would not be outdated and then seem slow in just a couple of months. Would like to buy something good. So the budget depends according to that and my below requirements.

What will be your primary usage for the notebook be? -> Intense Image Editing in Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom 4. Ocassional Video Editing would also be done.

What size and weight considerations do you have? -> None other than a 15.6" screen or bigger but please note that I have been a Core i7 desktop user with 6gigs of DDR3 RAM. Things were pretty snappy on that system and I expect the same from my laptop.

Any brand that you prefer, or any brand that you detest? -> Anything other than a mac. I am a Windows user.

Any other considerations? -> I am a Freelance Professional Photographer and I would be using Photoshop and Lightroom extensively. I would like to have a good display (IPS would be awesome) because it is vital for me to calibrate the screen as per the print. I would also like a 120GB SSD on it so that the OS and other softwares I install on it are super snappy and a 1TB 7200RPM HDD to store the current important client data on it. I would do some casual gaming sometimes but my main preference is good performance as I would also be using it for Photographic Retouching which involves me having many layers open in Photoshop.