Setting up Asus WL-520gU

harley02

Disciple
Hi guys,
Last week I got my MTNL tri band connection with their wireless router. Till date, no down time (touch wood) but MTNL router has a poor range. After reading a lot of good things about Asus WL-520gU on techenclave, I bought it yesterday primarily to download torrents and to improve wireless range. I am new to wireless networking and would need your advice in setting up this router. The following information should help you guys in advising me:
1. MTNL router has four RJ 45 ports but only two can be used for LAN and the other two are for VOIP and IPTV (told by MTNL guy) and one USB port.
2. ASUS router has one WAN port, four LAN ports & one USB port.
3. I’ll be using my cell & laptop on wireless network and two desktops on wired network.

How do I connect the two routers? And from the list of security options available on asus router which one would you suggest for secure my wireless connection?

After successfully setting up the network I’ll flash Asus router to download torrents…will need your help on that later.

Your advice will be very helpful. Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Harley

1. connect lan port from MTNL router to WAN port of Asus
2. connect lan 1/2 from Asus to desktop 1 and 2 (alternately you can connect 1 desktop to MTNL router lan port 2)
3. configure Wireless setup on Asus - SSID with WPA2. - That can be used by phones with WiFI and laptops.

I have a similar setup with tata indicomm broadband cable modem with a dlink dir 300 router with one dekstop always connected and 1 laptop and 1 netbook and one e72 connecting over wireless. Have fun.

You might run into some trouble during the IP setup - let us know how it goes.

Dont mean to hijack your thread but even i'm concidering buying this router for my MTNL Triband. I actually want to know how you would setup the Torrent thingy since I cant seem to find a definite 'guide' of sorts for this.

@harly_o2........ how much did you get the router for?